Strawberry freezer jam

Freezer jam is my favorite jam ever, especially Strawberry freezer Jam.  It tastes so fresh.  It’s just like eating strawberries fresh out of the garden.  Spread out on a piece of fresh toast is the perfect for breakfast.

My mom always made jam every summer, I carried this tradition into my home, with the exception that I made freezer jam rather than cooked jam. I would line up all the kids in the neighborhood and they would stir and chop strawberries for me as a reward they got to take home a bottle of fresh jam. Pretty cheap labor if you ask me.

Freezer jam is so easy and hardly makes a mess, I love to make several batches and give it away or save for winter. I prefer sure-jel pectin. The pectin is cooked prior to adding to fruit and I find this helps the jam set up better. Freezer jam does not set up firm like other jams it is often very soft, and sometimes it is more like a syrup. I don’t know why sometimes it chooses not to set up it just doesn’t. Either way it tastes great on everything.

I usually start with 2 pints of strawberries since some get eaten along the way. Wash and stem the strawberries,  less than perfect strawberries are ok. Cut out any blemishes. Place in food processor and pulse to a crushed consistency to not puree, it is best if you have a few fruit pieces in the jam.

Measure 2 cups of fruit into a large mixing bow, pre-measure 4 cups of sugar in a separate bowl. Combine together, stir to combine and let rest 10 minutes stirring every few minutes to combine sugar. On stove boil 3/4 cup water and package of pectin, bring to boil for 1 minute. Add to pectin to strawberries and stir until well mixed, about 5 minutes. Follow the instructions for best results in regard to amount of sugar and fruit.

Prepare jars by sterilizing. I like to do it in the dishwasher on sani wash and dry. Pour jam into prepared jars. Wipe lip of jar to remove and spilled jam.

Boil the seals, place on top of cleaned lids and close tightly with clean lids.

Place in freezer and enjoy later. People love to receive freezer jam, especially in the winter, long after berry season has passed.

We use it on waffles, toast, strawberry shortcake, ice cream, biscuits and fresh bread. It tasted like it came fresh from the strawberry patch.

I am not going to include a recipe here because you really need to refer to package directions for quantities and directions since they seem to change frequently. I like the sure-jell brand, it is the one that boils the pectin before adding to fruit and I think it sets up more firmly than others. Other brands may ask for Karo syrup and lemon juice.

Leave a Reply

