Chocolate raspberry smoothie bowl

I love smoothies, I have one every morning. When the idea of smoothie bowl was introduced to me I was skeptical. After making and eating this version I can see the attractions to eating your smoothie in a bowl. Adding whole fruit and granola to your bowl of smoothie makes a nice chew-able breakfast, the crunch of granola and sweetness of the fruit is quite delicious.

I need to have a protein with my breakfast or I get sick since I have hypoglycemia, so I use a protein supplement. Whatever your preferred source is fine, soy, whey or paleo. I also can not drink cows milk so I used cashew milk. Whatever milk source you can tolerate works well. I have used coconut milk, quinoa milk and almond milk all taste great. Fresh or frozen raspberries work equally well.

Combine milk, chocolate protein powder and raspberries, in a blender. Pulse to combine then blend on high for a bit until completely mixed. Ice can be added if you want a colder version.

Pour into a bowl, sprinkle on granola, raspberries, and quinoa. Then enjoy this delicious nutritious protein packed breakfast.

Nuts can also be added to bowl if desired, pecans, almonds or walnuts would work great.

If adding frozen raspberries to your bowl, rinse in cool water to quickly defrost.

Ingredients
  • 1 cup raspberries, fresh or frozen
  • 1 cup milk or milk alternative
  • 2 tablespoon chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • ½ cup granola
Instructions
  1. In blender combine milk, chocolate powder, ½ cup raspberries
  2. Pulse a few times to combine then blend to thoroughly combine
  3. Pour into bowl
  4. Sprinkle with remaining raspberries, chia seeds and granola
Notes
½-1 cup ice can be added if you prefer a colder version
Fresh or frozen raspberries can be used
Rinse frozen raspberries in cool water to defrost quickly
