Roasted Sweet Potatoes

I love sweet potatoes and yams. People often ask what is the difference? Yams are a darker orange color, sweet potatoes are a lighter yellow color. It can be hard to determine the difference when you are buying them. Again the sweet potatoes are usually a lighter color. In this recipe I used both.

This recipe is so delicious it has a slightly sweet taste and a touch of cinnamon.  When combined with the nuttiness from the pepita seeds and walnuts it is so satisfying any time of year.Peel potatoes, slice thin. I used my food processor. Place in a large bowl.

Melt coconut oil, combine with honey, cinnamon, pepitas, and lightly salt if desired. Pour over potatoes, toss to distribute the honey mixture. Add pepita and nuts, toss.

Spread in casserole dish laying slices flat if possible. Bake uncovered in middle of oven for 45 minutes until potatoes are tender.

OOPPS the broiler was on. I scraped off the burnt parts and it was delicious. I had put the burnt pieces on a plate while I salvaged the rest of the dish and my dad and son gobbled up the burnt pieces and said it was great that way. I think those two will eat anything. Chase ate half the pan by himself.

In place of coconut oil, butter or olive oil can be used

Ingredients
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 2 yams
  • ½ cup honey
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ cup pepita seeds
  • ½ cup walnut halves
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • salt to taste
Instructions
  1. Peel potatoes and slice thin
  2. In large bowl combine with nuts and pepita seeds
  3. Melt coconut oil, combine with honey. Add cinnamon and salt if desired.
  4. Toss to combine and cover potatoes with coconut mix
  5. Spread in baking dish.
  6. Bake 45 min uncovered until potatoes are tender
