Peach Cobbler

This is my own invention. I love it. I have combined two types that I have eaten. One from a local restaurant that had a cinnamon cobbler with a pie crust and the second from a neighbor lady brought me some with a nice biscuit type top crust. So I combined the two to make this version.

 

Peel and slice peaches. Combine sugar and cornstarch add cinnamon, toss with peaches and lemon juice, I usually do this in the baking dish, tossing with my hands. Spread peaches out evenly in large baking dish.

I rarely measure the peaches, I just cut and slice until I have what I need to cover the pan I have chosen. It can make a small round cake size pan or this large baker size. I like to have a couple of inches of peaches. The peachier the better.

 

Combine flour, salt, sugar, baking powder. Cut in shortening or butter. When it has a pea size texture add milk and egg. Stirring just until the flour is wet, do not over stir. It will be sticky and lumpy this is what you are looking for.

 

Place spoonfuls of dough onto peach mixture, flatten out to cover as much area as possible leaving small spaces in between. This makes a light airy topping that absorbs just enough of the peach juice.

 

Bake 400° for 18-20 minutes until the dough is golden brown.

The peaches will have created a warm bubbly sauce with the delicious sugar and cinnamon. Top this with fresh cream or vanilla bean ice cream while warm for a perfect summer delight.

Ingredients
  • 6-8 medium peaches
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • Crust
  • ¼ cup shortening butter flavored
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 beaten egg
  • ⅔ cup milk
Instructions
  1. Combine sugar, cinnamon and cornstarch mix well.
  2. Cut up peaches in thin slices.
  3. Toss peaches in sugar mixture, add lemon juice.
  4. Place in a greased baking dish 9×9.
  5. Combine flour, sugar salt, baking powder.
  6. Add shortening.
  7. Cut the shortening with a pastry blender or two knifes until a pea size texture is reached.
  8. Gently mix in the milk and egg, do not over blend. It may look slightly unmixed with some dry flour. This is perfect.
  9. Place small spoonfuls over peaches. Flatten a bit if you can. This can be a bit messy but that is ok.
  10. Bake in 400 degree oven for 25 minutes or until top is golden brown on tips of crust.

My sister enjoying my cobbler which is one of her favorites.

I made a Paleo version for her using gluten free almond flour and honey.

