Lavender Lemonade

Lemonade infused with the relaxing properties of lavender creates the most divine drink for a warm summer day. I felt like wrapping myself in a juicy romance novel and letting the world slip away.

I acquired some fresh lavender from a neighbor. When using lavender it is recommended that a culinary type is used. English or french lavender work well. Dried culinary lavender can be obtained at many natural food stores or online. Fresh lavender can also be purchased at a natural food store.

In a 2 cup measuring cup pour boiling water over 1/2 cup lavender flowers (fresh or dried). Steep for 30 min.

Meanwhile prepare lemonade, I do not live where lemons are abundant or cheap. I purchase “Simply Lemonade” from the grocery store. Frozen can also be used, this however has artificial ingredients in it which I do not recommend.

To add the lavender water to your lemonade you will need to strain the flowers out. Simply pour the water through a fine mesh strainer. I added 1 cup of lavender water to my 2 quarts of lemonade and then tested for flavor. Then added more if needed.

t is recommended that you do not add to much lavender as this can result in a perfumey or soapy flavor. Just a slight aroma and delicate flavor is desired.

The end result is a beautifully colored, sweet lemonade with a relaxing smooth aroma and taste.

 

