Triple Berry Pie (AKA Razzleberry)

This is my rendition of the famous Marie Calendars pie, so I all it Triple Berry Pie (don’t want to be stealing their recipes, just copycatting). I feel mine is a superb replica. I use a traditional pie crust. Fresh or frozen berries make this fantastic summertime dessert. This is a reminder of the wonderful pies that would have been taken to a small town gathering in the late 1800’s, complete with a hoe-down to follow.

I like to serve triple berry pie with vanilla ice cream while warm.  Now that’s totally preference.  You may like your pie naked.  And that’s ok too.

HOW TO BAKE

1. Prepare your pie crust for Triple Berry Pie.  This part often scares people the most.

2. Prepare filling: Put 1 1/2-2 cup of mixed berries in the bottom of the pie crust. This will help to ensure some nice juicy whole berries when eating. Combine cornstarch and sugar, add to berries and water.  Stir until mixed well. Place on medium to high burner.

Bring to boil, cook until thick and bubbly about 10-15 min (total cooking time). Stirring occasionally to prevent scorching. Be cautious of popping liquid it can give you quite a deep burn.

3. Finishing your pie: Carefully place top crust on and seal the edges. Make any decorative crust and edges you desire. Vent the top. Bake on the BOTTOM rack in a 375º degree oven for 1 hour. When top is golden brown and juices are bubbling the pie is done. Cool before eating. Serve with fresh cream or vanilla ice cream.

To prevent edges getting too dark. You can cover the edges with tin foil if you desire. Removing foil half way through baking.

OPTIONS:

*As you can see I did not successfully get the top crust in place without it splitting. This is because I did not roll it soon enough and it dried out (because I was taking pictures when I should have been cooking 😉 . If you do not roll out the crust immediately cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate.
*Fortunately it still tastes fabulous.

While I was waiting for this to cool I made the mistake of leaving the room. When I came back someone had decided to eat my pie right out of the pan. The culprit confessed and said it was the best pie ever made, better than any pie ever bought. Well the saga continues. After dinner I go back to my pie to get a slice and half of it is now gone. I scoop me up a piece, when I return to put the pie away their is no pie remaining. Now I ask you there are 5 people in this house how did we eat a whole pie, in one night? This reminds me of the cartoons we watched as a kid. The one where the cook put the pie on the window sill to cool and it is stolen before she knows it. Bakers beware!!

TIPS:

*Make extra filling and this can be used as an ice cream topping.
*As I mentioned I do not use strawberries or blueberries when I make this. Most frozen berry blends come with both these berries. I just removed them. If you can find non-mixed berries you should buy them. I love the deep taste and color you get from using both blackberries and boysenberries.

*Hide the pie if you want it for any thing other than being eaten immediately 🙂

To make a lattice crust. Cut top crust in strips, then weave them as shown above. Seal each strip on edge

Ingredients
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ⅓ cup cornstarch
  • 1 ½ cup water
  • 6 cups of berries, raspberries, boysenberries, blackberries (Frozen is acceptable)
  • 2 prepared pie crust, one for bottom one for top
Instructions
  1. Put one pie crust in bottom of pie pan. Prepare top crust, cover with plastic. Set aside
  2. Put 1½ cup of mixed berries in the bottom of the pie crust. This will help to ensure some nice juicy whole berries when eating.
  3. Combine cornstarch and sugar stir until mixed well, put in sauce pan, add remaining berries and water. Bring to boil, cook until thick and bubbly about 10-15 min total cooking time. Stirring occasionally to prevent scorching.
  4. Pour mixture into pie shell. Fill to top.
  5. Carefully place top crust on and seal the edges. Make any decorative top crust and edges you desire. Vent the top.
  6. Bake on the BOTTOM rack in a 375º degree oven for 1 hour. You can cover the edges with tin foil if you desire. Removing foil half way through baking.
  7. When top is golden brown and juices are bubbling the pie is done. Cool before eating.
Notes
Serve with fresh cream or vanilla ice cream.
Make extra filling and this can be used as an ice cream topping.
