Oatmeal

If someone asked me, “Do you like oatmeal”? My instant respond would be to curl up my nose and gag, with and emphatic “NO”! I was fed oatmeal every morning of my child hood, (well almost). I gagged on it then and I gag on it now. I had a childhood friend whose parents were German, they ate muesli for breakfast. At that time I thought how weird to eat oatmeal uncooked. I did however like it.
Oatmeal cooked for breakfast has different names in different regions of the world, such as gruel (sounds appetizing), porridge and mush. There are several versions in which you can buy oatmeal; rolled, quick, instant and steel cut. Oatmeal comes from the grain groats, which is steamed to remove the hull. Quick oats are cut into small pieces before being steamed and rolled. Instant oats have been cooked then dehydrated. Steel cut oats may be small and broken groats, left over from processing, which are steamed and rolled.
Rolled oats (my favorite) are steamed and flattened. I like these for baking because they have more body and are chewier. You can use any form of oats you desire for baking. Kids often like the quick oats because they require less chewing.
I do love baking with oatmeal. Nothing makes me happier on a rainy day than making something warm and gooey.  Rainy days are for baking.

Nurse Stacy Says

Oatmeal is a whole grain and is very healthy for you. Many studies have been done on the benefits of oatmeal for your heart health by lowering blood pressure and lowering cholesterol. Oats contain more dietary fiber than any other whole grain, reducing the risks of colon cancer. This makes your intestines happy. Oats contain manganese, selenium, phosphorus, fiber, magnesium, and zinc. Oats are also rich in carotenoids, and Vitamin E. Plus they are gluten free.

Medical News Today Info on Oatmeal

Calories per (3.5 ounce 1/2 cup of oatmeal) 390 cal

Carbohydrate 66 g

Protein 17 g

Dietary fiber total 11 g
– Soluble 5 g
– Insoluble 6 g

Total fat 6 g
– Saturated 1.217 g
– Monounsaturated 2.178 g
– Polyunsaturated 2.535 g
– Cholesterol 0 g

Minerals
Calcium 54 mg
Iron 4.72 mg
Magnesium 177 mg
Phosphorous 523 mg
Potassium 429 mg
Sodium 2 mg
Zinc 3.97 mg
Copper 0.626 mg
Manganese 4.916 mg

17 essential Amino Acids

Leave a Reply

