Red Velvet “Bundt” Cake

redvelvetbundtcake_opt

After a week of constant snow and freezing temperatures, I awoke today to a balmy 35°, blue skies and sunshine. I said to myself, “what better thing to do than bake a cake?” Since we have not left the house in a week and have not been to the store, I was reduced to using what was in the pantry from Christmas: a red-velvet cake mix, half a package of chocolate pudding, half a container of sour cream, three eggs, and plenty of candy. I put my brain to thinking and this is what I came up with.

It is a rendition of one of our favorite Bundt cakes, which we call “Tunnel of Fudge” cake (Look for that recipe at a later date). I don’t know why it is called that, since it has neither a tunnel nor fudge in it. It will have a delicious cream cheese glaze. I rarely make cakes from scratch the boxed ones are just sooooo fail proof. I have been burned (literally in some cases) too many times by the traditional Bundt cake pan. I’ve used metal, heat resistant plastic polymer, stone, and ceramic. All left me frustrated when the top or sides remained in the pan, with all my delicious crunchy toppings. One day I was shopping for a spring form pan, when I found one that had an insert for a Bundt pan. This and some innovations have finally led me to have a perfect formed Bundt pan.

I always grease and flour the bottom of the pan. Trace some parchment paper the size of the pan, lay this in the bottom of the pan and spray the parchment with nonstick spray. This may have turned in to overkill on the nonstick methods but after many failed cakes I leave nothing to chance. If I am using nuts, I sprinkle them on the paper liberally.  But not for this recipe.

Mix all the ingredients together.  No order, nothing special, just dump and mix.

Then after the batter is prepared pour it in the pan.

Place a cookie sheet over the Bundt pan in the oven (preheated to 350) bake 30 min.  Looks funny, but this is very important. This helps to keep the cake moist.

After removing the cookie sheet and baking the remainder 15-20 min it will look puffy and delicious and ready for the spring test.  Once passed, my lovely spring form pan releases the cake intact. Invert on cake plate to cool. Then, you top it all with the glaze goodness.

Sadly my father is a diabetic with a severe sweet tooth. I will have to sneak this out of the kitchen and off to the neighbors before he ever sees it—good thing he doesn’t get on the internet.

Ingredients
  • 1 box red velvet cake mix, any brand
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ cup canola oil or vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 1 small package instant chocolate pudding, unmixed
  • Glaze
  • ½ brick of cream cheese
  • 2 tablespoons butter (not margarine)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1-2 teaspoons milk, small amounts at a time
Instructions
  1. Combine all ingredients and mix together. Pout into greased and floured Bundt pan lined with parchment paper. Cover the pan wit a cookie sheet bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Remove cookie sheet and bake another 15-20 minutes until cake springs back to touch. Cool 10 min before inverting on a cake plate. Gently remove pan. Check cake is in tact, then replace the pan to continue cooling for 1 hour.
  2. For Glaze:
  3. Combine cream cheese, sugar and butter Blend well, until thoroughly smooth. We want a thin consistency that easily drips from a spoon. Test a bit with a spoon to see if it drips, if not add ½ teaspoon of milk at a time until a thin string easily falls from spoon. Drizzle over cake until desired amount is on the cake. This can also be done by pouring into a small ziploc bag, sealing it and snipping a small piece off of a corner and using it as a piping bag.

 

Leave a Reply

